Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: David Harvey and Libertarians

Default David Harvey and Libertarians

So I was looking for David Harvey lectures on Youtube and came across this video by a user named "HowTheWorldWorks."

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NJGAs...feature=relmfu

It's supposed to be a critique of David Harvey's critique of capitalism, but most of it is just the standard Libertarian tactic of moralizing and glorifying the flaws of capitalism.

However, there was one part in the video that concerned me. He claims that he debunks Harvey's entire lecture because of Harvey's statement that wages are stagnant. HowTheWorldWorks then brings up some census data which apparently proves that wages have actually been increasing.

I'm not an expert in economics quite yet, so what's the deal here? Is this Libertarian guy onto something, or did he (As I'm leaning towards) totally misinterpret the census data on wages? I mean, do those wages take into account things like inflation?

2. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Questionable For This Useful Post:

Organisation
    IWW
    Blog Entries

Judge for yourself:

(chart is for US wages)

From the short wikipedia article on the "real wage" (ie wage adjusted for inflation)
    "Win, lose or draw...long as you squabble and you get down, that's gangsta."

4. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Os Cangaceiros For This Useful Post:

Organisation
    I.M.C.C.
    Blog Entries

Quote Originally Posted by Os Cangaceiros View Post
    Judge for yourself:

(chart is for US wages)

From the short wikipedia article on the "real wage" (ie wage adjusted for inflation)
    Good quote. The peak there is also the peak for US social program spending (both under Nixon).

6. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Dean For This Useful Post: